Jimi hendrix curtis knight the great jimi hendrix in new york - You Can’t Use My Name: Curtis Knight. - Jimi Hendrix

You Can’t Use My Name: Curtis Knight & The Squires (Featuring Jimi Hendrix) The RSVP/PPX Sessions is the first in a series that presents these recordings in their original context. This 14-track collection is taken from sessions in 1965 and 1966 (plus one July 1967 recording).

In 2003, Hendrix's estate finally prevailed in their legal actions against Chalpin and gained control of all of Hendrix's recordings associated with Knight, Chalpin, and PPX . [6] Experience Hendrix, which currently manages Hendrix's recording legacy, has begun releasing the material he recorded with Knight. [8] Much of it has been sonically restored and removes later overdubs and electronic effects. [9]

“This release offers great insight into an important period in Jimi’s musical development,” explains Janie Hendrix, CEO of Experience Hendrix . and sister of Jimi Hendrix. “We’re delighted that our Dagger label is able to put these recordings in historical context.”

Midway through his deal with PPX, Hendrix relocated from New York to London and formed the Jimi Hendrix Experience in 1966, recording and releasing the single Hey Joe later that year. This violation of Hendrix’s exclusive contract with Chalpin and PPX resulted in legal complications that were only resolved in 2002 , when a London high court order finally settled the matter, laying out PPX’s ownership of 33 specific recordings and allowing Experience Hendrix to begin acquiring the rights to Hendrix’s other recordings as a sideman.

1. "How Would You Feel"
2. "Gotta Have A New Dress"
3. "Don’t Accuse Me"
4. "Fool For You Baby"
5. "No Such Animal"
6. "Welcome Home"
7. "Knock Yourself Out [Flying On Instruments] "
8. "Simon Says"
9. "Station Break"
10. "Strange Things"
11. "Hornet’s Nest"
12. "You Don’t Want Me"
13. "You Can’t Use My Name"
14. "Gloomy Monday"

A significant addition to the Dagger Records catalog and never officially released in the . before, these recordings showcase Jimi Hendrix ’s explosive guitar ...

At this point Ed Chalpin sued Hendrix over his contract with the guitarist, causing problems for several years. Hendrix's managers decided to build Electric Ladyland Studios, hoping to save money on recording costs. To help pay for the studio, Hendrix was forced into endless touring, which caused the Experience to break up. Hendrix then formed Band of Gypsys with his old friend Cox and drummer Buddy Miles. In 1969 Hendrix's famous performance of the "Star-Spangled Banner" at the Woodstock festival in New York captured the anguish of the Vietnam War era (1957–75; a war in which the United States aided South Vietnam in their ultimately unsuccessful efforts to stop a takeover by Communist North Vietnam).

Jimi Hendrix Curtis Knight The Great Jimi Hendrix In New YorkJimi Hendrix Curtis Knight The Great Jimi Hendrix In New YorkJimi Hendrix Curtis Knight The Great Jimi Hendrix In New YorkJimi Hendrix Curtis Knight The Great Jimi Hendrix In New York